Damsel

Let me start off by saying I had some very late nights lately because of this book. I would read it until I couldn’t see straight then force myself to read just a little bit more. I thought that it was a bit different having a book that was commissioned to be based off of a screen play instead of the other way around. This book was written on the basis of the screenplay of a Netflix movie that is set to come out in 2024 staring Millie Bobby Brown of Stranger Things fame. Even knowing that I still envisioned the characters differently than what the future film had them cast. The writing is very atmospheric detailed.

Damsel starts out with our main protagonist surveying the country she loves, despite it’s hardships, with her father, when a convoy shows up from an illusive wealthy island country. It is then that the new was broken to Elodie that Lord Bayford has arranged for her to be married to the prince of this country. But she does not fret because it will benefit her country and it’s people greatly.

After a brief courtship via letters Elodie and her family set sail to Aurea. Three days after the long journey in which Elodie was lavished with beautiful gifts she wed Prince Henry. She was anointed a Princess. And she thought her life would be a beautiful fairytale. But she was dead wrong. On the night of the wedding she found that the riches and handsome prince came at a cost and the cost was her blood given to a blood thirsty dragon.

Damsel is the penultimate damsel in distress story. But the biggest twist? This damsel saves herself, her sister, and the future of Aurea effectively replacing the monarch and prospering.

This book is full of so much fear and strength. It was suspenseful to the point of my own heart pounding along with Elodie’s. I feared for her, cheered for her and rejoiced with her. The ending was 99% satisfying as a certain monarch, I feel, didn’t get what her deserved. But that is where Elodie shines. She gave them the choice to succumb to the fate of the dragon or flee. I bet you can guess which one was the weasel. But She gave them the choice and it was noble.

This book has everything a great YA fantasy should and more. It was immensely better than I thought it would be and I give it a solid 5 stars. I loved this book from beginning to end and I wouldn’t change a single thing. well maybe that one thing 😉.

I recieved a copy of Damsel via Netgally for a fair and honest review.

Leave a comment