The Magician’s Daughter

Last night as I was finishing this book I was actually sad to see it end. This book could easily have a sequel but it really doesn’t need one, and I don’t need an excuse to buy more books. I am clearly a fan of magic as most books I read that aren’t thrillers have some sort of magical element to it, some more subtle than others. I complain a lot when a fantasy story is a series because it seems like that is the formula for a fantasy, that it has to be more than one book. On the other hand when I love the world that I have been emersed in I don’t want it to end.

The Magician’s Daughter was released on 28 Feb 2023. I recieved a copy from Netgally to review but I fell quite behind and didn’t make it to this book before publishing. I am sorry I was not on the ball, but I did get to it shortly after publishing and that has to count for something right?

The Magician’s Daughter is the story of a girl who grows up on enchanted island with a mage and his familiar. Despite her upbringing, Biddy does not have magic of her own. Like many young girls her age who have been sheltered into their teens, she dreams of leaving the island and seeing the world. She wishes to fulfill a desire to do something more and special with her life. She wishes for magic. But magic is becoming scarce and the gaps in which it leaks into the world have closed.

Rowan can use magic, and he often uses it to turn into a raven that can fly across to the mainland and night. You would think with his Robinhood complex that he would be the hero of our story. He steals magic from the council to share it with people who need help or a miracle. One night on such an adventure he becomes trapped and doesn’t return to the island. It is then that Biddy’s story, her adventure begins.

I loved the way this magical world was set up . It feels like a little bit Philip Pullman’s Golden Compass and a little bit Charlie Holmberg’s The Paper Magician. I believe if you have enjoyed either of those books this book will be up your ally. There is the classic light forces and dark forces. The creeping dictator with his malignant misguided pet. There is so much little wonderful quirks and details that bring this story to vivid life even when the main protagonist doesn’t seem to see it and the world seems grey.

My absolute favorite character has to be Hutchencroft! Who wouldn’t want a big soft bunny to be a care taker, who when the feeling strikes can become human and cook bacon?!? And Hutch loves bacon 😉 He is spunky and funny and I love everything about his character!

This book is fantastic. I loved it from beginning to end and I hope to visit this world and Hutch again someday. Okay, and Rowan and Biddy too. I absolutely give this 4.5 out of 5 stars. I am not going to spoil the ending, but let me say the half point lost was due to the ending not fitting my ideal ending for this story. But maybe that will make way for a future in this magical world.

Leave a comment