Sweetwater

I was gifted a copy of Sweetwater out of kindness from ms. Lena North. I literally begged for it bc I had read the first book in the series and I have a galley of the third and wanted desperately not to skip part of the story. That being said, the history was in the first story but other than that not much was similar. 

If you’re familiar with Wilder then you know that a crystal was found and Jinx Sweetwater was in charge of testing and figuring out the crystal. But shortly after starting she starts experiencing an epic burn out. While supervising the build of a testing location where she is supposed to be laying low she ends up having a breakdown and under the care of the town hottie. He can read minds and he and Jinx eventually converse in their minds. But as brilliant as she is she is kind of clueless which is a bit cleché. 

There was very little mention of the bird connection that I thought so interesting about the first story. Though we are introduced to the idea that only certain families have the bird connection it still could have been better utilized in the second installment of the birds of a feather series. It is almost more like a spinoff where the original information is vague.

Don’t get me wrong I liked the story and the romance angle was very sweet. I just didn’t feel like it had the same wavelength of the first book. Even the covers don’t even flow from the 1st to 2nd book.

I would still recommend it to those who want to read the series as a whole as there is a little new information that is essential to the storyline.

I would say this is a 3 out of 5 rating.

So, my little booklings, if you read the first one go ahead and read the second and we’ll see what number three has in store.

Leave a Reply

